Oregon Property Crimes Attorneys

Theft

Theft is the unlawful taking of property from another person. Theft crimes are considered property crimes and range from low-level misdemeanors to major felonies. Theft charges in Oregon include crimes of shoplifting, petty theft, employee theft, embezzlement, and auto theft. Oregon law provides four primary theft crimes:

  • Theft III
    A conviction for Third Degree Theft (“Theft III”) is a Class C Misdemeanor and is charged when an individual steals something valued under $100.
  • Theft II
    A conviction for Second Degree Theft (“Theft II”) is a Class A Misdemeanor and is charged when an individual steals property with a value between $100 and $1,000.
  • Theft I
    A conviction for First Degree Theft (“Theft I”) is a Class C Felony and is typically charged under any of the following circumstances: taking property with a value over $1,000; stealing a firearm or explosive; taking someone’s pet or livestock; stealing during a riot or other disaster; selling or buying property known to be stolen.
  • Aggravated Theft I
    A conviction for First Degree Aggravated Theft is a Class B Felony, and is charged when one takes property with a value over $10,000.

Burglary

Burglary in Oregon is the entering into a place, without permission, with the intent to commit any crime. An individual does not need to steal something to be charged with Burglary. The intent to commit any crime after entering a place without permission, including assaulting another person, can result in a Burglary charge. A Burglary conviction can result in a significant prison sentence. The defense attorneys at Coit & Payment have a long history of defending clients charged with Burglary offenses under many different circumstances. We have successful practical experience and employ a variety of strategic tools that you need on your side when defending against a Burglary charge. Contact our law office for a free consultation with one of our attorneys.