Oregon DUI Law

Oregon Driving Under the Influence of Intoxicants or “DUII” (also known as “DUI” or “DWI”) law is complex and ever-changing. The Oregon and DUI lawyers at Coit & Payment provide the best Oregon DUI criminal defense out of our office in Eugene. Our attorneys thoroughly research the facts and fully understand the law pertaining to each particular type of Oregon DUI case.  This level of expertise allows us to create the best possible outcome for our clients accused of DUI under Oregon law.

Being arrested for DUI in Oregon can be a traumatic and embarrassing event in one’s life. Our exceptional DUI attorneys will discuss your rights and the legal process in an easy to understand and common sense fashion. DUI consultations with our lawyers are always free of charge when done in our Eugene office. Our law office will frequently have an Oregon DUI lawyer available for a free consultation within 24 hours of your initial phone call. If you call during business hours, you will usually be able to speak with a DUI attorney immediately.

An arrest for DUI in Oregon carries several major legal consequences, the most important of which include the DMV drivers’ license suspension and DUI prosecution commenced by the district attorney or city prosecutor’s office. The Oregon DUI lawyers of Coit & Payment effectively and aggressively handle all levels of DUI defense throughout the State of Oregon. Our DUI lawyers are frequently defending DUI cases in Eugene, Springfield, Cottage Grove, Coburg, Oakridge, Florence, Albany, Salem, McMinnville, Roseburg, Medford, Bend, and throughout many remaining cities and counties in Oregon.

To obtain additional information about Oregon DUI law and procedure visit our DUI exclusive information page: www.duiilawyereugene.com

DMV License Suspension After DUI:

One of the first impacts of a DUI accusation is the administrative license suspension that occurs following most DUI arrests. In general, DMV seeks to suspend the operator’s license for persons who either fail a breath test after being arrested (.08 BAC or greater) or for persons who refused to provide a breath, blood, or urine test.

The length of the license suspension from DMV can range from 90 days to 3 years. Under some circumstances, the accused will be eligible for a temporary operator’s license or hardship permit. Typically, the drivers’ license suspension after a DUI is longer when the accused refuses a breath test.

Contesting the DMV License Suspension: Time is of the essence if you want to keep your license following a DUI arrest. If a DMV ordered license suspension is to be contested, a request must be made within 10 days of the DUI arrest date. To preserve your driving rights following an arrest for DUI, you should call the lawyers at Coit & Payment immediately for a free DUI consultation. Our attorneys will do everything we can to overturn your license suspension following an arrest for DUI.

DUI Prosecution:

The past ten years have seen a judicial and legislative movement designed to increase the penalty for DUI offenders. The DUI attorneys at Coit & Payment counter this trend with vigorous and conscientious defense for Oregon DUI law violations. We employ a number of effective methods when defending clients charged with DUI, including use of forensic toxicology experts, private investigators, and accident reconstruction.

Most first-time Oregon DUI offenders are eligible for the Oregon DUI diversion and deferred prosecution program. Although the laws pertaining to Oregon DUI diversion are complex, our attorneys can quickly screen your case for Oregon DUI diversion eligibility. There are critical time deadlines associated with DUI diversion entry. In order to preserve your rights following an arrest for DUI, call the Oregon DUI lawyers at Coit & Payment immediately. If your case is eligible, the attorneys at Coit & Payment can skillfully navigate you through the Oregon DUI diversion process with an eye towards dismissal of your case.

A large portion of Oregon DUI arrests and prosecutions are not DUI diversion eligible. For such cases, the stakes are high and the chance of incarceration is real. Our lawyers are skilled advocates during both DUI plea negotiations and DUI trials. Our DUI attorneys use many of the best methods to effectively defend our clients during DUI prosecutions, which include filing motions to suppress evidence and statements that were produced in violation of constitutionally protected rights, and use of expert witness testimony to attack the breath test results or field sobriety test results.

When Does a DUI Become a Felony?

The Oregon DUI attorneys at Coit & Payment frequently defend people accused of felony DUI charges as well as misdemeanor DUI charges. Under Oregon law, a DUI is a felony charge if the individual has three or more prior DUI arrests in Oregon or elsewhere within the ten-year period preceding the current arrest. In most felony DUI prosecutions, the state attempts to place the offender in prison for a period of one year or longer.